19 Feb 2012

Official Tags
Singing (611)
Opera (114)

Unofficial Tags
Classical (360)
tenor (42)
Baroque (18)
bach (9)

Posted 19 Feb 2012 23:32
0 faves
1 vote

External Services
Social Networks

Deposuit Potentes (Bach)

was a German composer, organist, harpsichordist, violist, and violinist whose sacred and secular works for choir, orchestra, and solo instruments drew together the strands of the Baroque period and brought it to its ultimate maturity. Although he did not introduce new forms, he enriched the prevailing German style with a robust contrapuntal technique, an unrivalled control of harmonic and motivic organisation, and the adaptation of rhythms, forms and textures from abroad, particularly from Italy and France.

He is now generally regarded as one of the main composers of the Baroque style, and as one of the greatest composers of all time. Beethoven said of him, "He is not a brook ('Bach' in German), but an Ocean."

The Magnificat in D Major is a setting of the Magnificat text by Johann Sebastian Bach for five soloists, a five-part choir and orchestra. Bach first composed a version in E-flat major, (cataloged as BWV 243a) for Christmas in 1723 and then reworked that music in D major in 1733 (cataloged as BWV 243) for the the feast of the Visitation. The Latin text is the canticle of Mary, mother of Jesus, as told in the Gospel of Luke.

This is the 'Deposuit Potentes' from the same, a devilishly difficult piece